© 2020 Winter School on Astronomy

  • Facebook Social Icon

“Tune your television to any channel it doesn't receive and about 1 percent of the dancing static you see is accounted for by this ancient remnant of the Big Bang. The next time you complain that there is nothing on, remember that you can always watch the birth of the universe.”
― Bill Bryson, A Short History of Nearly Everything





Hands-On Workshop

Career Talks
Highly Reputed Speakers
Informal Interaction
Exciting Sessions



Lecture topics include star formation, stellar magnetism, galactic dynamics, active galactic nuclei and gravitational waves.

Hands-on session on computational astrophysics and stratospheric balloon experiments.


A five-day winter school on astronomy for senior undergraduate students and MSc level graduate students. Target students are aspiring astronomers or astronomy enthusiasts that are enrolled in other programs. Hands-on workshops will be emphasized and along with lectures delivered by leading practitioners in the field.


This is an inclusive winter school that emphasizes regional and gender equity and encourages cultural exchange and awareness between students from different countries. We value the role of informal interactions among participants and the consequent mentoring of students by senior scientists. Career counseling discussion groups are also organized.


This is one of the largest astronomy winter schools in the region, and it seeks to promote the development of professional astronomers through this event, as well as broaden the appeal of science to local school students and the general public in the host city by organizing public lectures and discussions.


A key highlight of the previous winter schools was the interaction among participants, leading to a wider and in-depth dialogue on astronomy. Students appreciate the opportunity to have informal discussions with leading scientists outside of the lecture hall. This element is often missing at their home colleges. Articles describing the past schools are available at http://astrowin.uwo.ca

AstroWin'19 can be looked up at: https://astrowin19.wixsite.com/astrowin19


AstroWin'20 will deliver a five-day intense crash course on astronomy with various hands-on workshops covering the latest developments in the field of astrophysics. The objective of AstroWin'20 like all previous schools is primarily to inspire students to take up careers in astronomy.


The organizers seek out up to a few select scientists to be primary lecturers at the school and also participate in content development. A series of secondary lecturers will also be invited, and the diversity of speakers are emphasized. Hands-on sessions will include theory, computation, and data analysis. Students will leave the school having replicated some of the analysis that went into recent discoveries of gravitational waves, interpreted observational data from stellar clusters, and ran a simple computer simulation of star formation. A visit and half-day mini-workshop at the TIFR National Balloon Facility, Hyderabad, where we will do some demonstration of scientific ballooning for astronomical observations.


AstroWin’20 –  Selected Participants

Aayush Gautam    Birendra Multiple Campus, Tribhuwan University, Nepal
Ankita Waghmare    St Xavier's College, Mumbai
Aritri Mohanta    The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda
Arnav Bhavsar Vinayak    IIT Mandi
Dwij Brahmbhatt    The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Vadodara
Mahek Jandga    NMIMS University, Mumbai University
Majithiya Drishtiben    Maharaja Saiyajirao university
Parikshit Nadimpali    Wesley Degree College, Secunderabad
Pratik V Dedhia    Skyroot Aerospace Pvt Ltd
Sabarthnam E    Xilinx INC
Sampada Gaonkar    St Xavier's College, Mumbai
Sanskar Vashishtha    Fergusson College, Pune, Maharashtra, India
Saudamini Kulkarni    Savitribai Phule Pune University
Shreyas Bapat    IIT Mandi
Sukhvinder Kaur    M. P. Birla Institute of Fundamental Research, Kolkata
Vrund Patel    M.S. University, Vadodara, Gujrat
Pankaj Saini    NIT Calicut
Vanshaj Bindal     Manipal Institute Of Technology, Manipal
Ravi Teja    Skyroot Aerospace Pvt Ltd
Gahana Tiwari    St Xavier's College, Mumbai
Nour Dergham    Osmania University, Hyderabad
Samyan Thota    FIITJEE Junior College
Prachi Chavan     Vellore institute of technology, Vellore, Tamil Nadu
Anjali Lohani    Amity university, Noida
Abhijeet Manhas    Indian Institute of Technology, Mandi
Shreyan Goswami    National Institute of Technology, Surat
Ankur Jyoti Kalika    Gauhati University
Ganagam  Vishnupriya    Miranda House, University of Delhi
Purnasha Sarkar    MP Birla Institute of Fundamental Research, Kolkata
Burçak Yeşilırmak    Akdeniz University- Space Science And Technologies Department
Sagarika Rao Valluri    RNSIT
Rahul Ethi    Rajalakshmi Engineering College(Autonomous)
Anjali Shivani Reddy    SreenidhiInstitute of Technology and Science
Anshul Singhal    Jaypee Institute of Information Technology, Noida
Hemakshi Malik    Hansraj College, Delhi University
Kartik Tiwari    Ashoka University
Hershini Gadaria    Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat
Kauts Singh    University of Mumbai, UDP (University Department of Physics)
Nirashan Pradhan     St. Xavier's College, Kathmandu, Nepal
Utkrisht Ghimire     St. Xavier's College, Kathmandu, Nepal
Anugrah Joshi    Fergusson College, Pune
Sohan Kumar    VNRVJIET
Sarmishta Basu    Behala College
Vivek Reddy    Bhavan’s Vivekananda College
A Achyut    Osmania University

Approved on 20.01.2020

Organizing Committee

Shantanu Basu, Western University, Canada
Ajit Kembhavi, IUCAA, India

Mousumi Das, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, India

Devendra Ojha, TIFR, Mumbai, India

BG Sidharth, BM Birla Science Centre, India

Pranav Sharma, BM Birla Science Centre, India



Registration Fee:


Indian National: Rs. 6000

International: 250 USD


The registration fee is charged for a six-day attending privilege, workshop charges, conference package, and lunches. This fee is non-refundable.


You are required to make your own travel and accommodation arrangements. However, we do provide some suggestion for accommodation for selected students.

Registration is open from 22 October 2019. Applicants will be notified if they are accepted to attend.


Important dates:

Early Registration Deadline: 10 November 2019 IST
Early Selection Announcement: 15 November 2019
Early Payment Deadline: 25 November 2019

Regular Registration Deadline: 31 December 2019 IST
Regular Selection Announcement: 10 January 2020
Regular Payment Deadline: 20 January 2020

Please visit this link to register: https://forms.gle/itCHsxDhsU9dYZ4L7



For queries contact:

Pranav Sharma

B M Birla Science Centre, Hyderabad, India 


Tel: +91 (0) 40 2323 5081

This site was designed with the
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now